A Son is Born, and So Is an Idea…

img_3781I’m a new mom.  I’m a vegetarian.  And because of being a new mom with a newborn that can’t handle dairy, I am now, for all intents and purposes- a vegan.

Have you ever tried to cook a meal with an eight- week- old demanding your attention?  It’s complicated, and it doesn’t leave much time to create elaborate meals that would grace the cover of a cookbook.

Lucky for me, I’ve mastered the art of cooking while my son naps.  This means creative, fast, sometimes disastrous results!

I have a carnivorous husband who doesn’t get the whole “tofu” thing.  If it’s got vegetables he says “no thanks”.  I’m usually very accommodating and make things that he can add meat to- but sometimes I just make myself a delicious vegan treat full of vegetable goodness.

That’s where this soup came from.  I had gone grocery shopping and got mushrooms and squash because they were on sale.  My husband hates both mushrooms and squash.  Too bad, more for me!

I started by chopping the veggies into nice big chunks.  I’m a lazy chef and I’ll do anything to avoid spending time cutting things up.  I threw them into the pot and wondered “Hmm, what next?”  Then, this soup appeared.

Vegan Black Bean Chili-Soup with Squash

1 Yellow Squash, Cut and QuarteredIMG_3780
~5 Largeish Mushrooms, Sliced
A Handful of Baby Carrots, Chopped
Garlic to Taste
A Few Shakes of Cumin
A Splash of Olive Oil
1 Can of Black Beans
2 Cans of Diced Tomatoes with Chilies
~1 Cup of Water

Add the olive oil, garlic and cumin to a good sized pot and heat it up on medium.  Add the chopped up veggies to the pan and stir them up, coating them with the garlic and cumin.  After they are heated through, add the black beans and diced tomatoes- liquid and all.  Stir it all up, then add the water.  Cover and let it simmer until the veggies are the texture you like.  I let mine sit for about an hour, then turned the heat off until I was ready to eat (about half an hour later.)  I like my veggies to have a little crunch to them, so if you like your stuff softer then let it simmer longer.

Probably makes about 4 servings, but the way I eat it’s more like one biiig bowl.

Perfect for this cloudy, rainy, 40* day.  Dig in!

Leave a Reply

