Pinned under a Pile of Paper (and Pancakes)

Book_pages_by_slobo777_stock

I have this habit of throwing “stuff” into a bowl without measuring, then cooking it in some fashion.  Generally, these creations turn out to be pretty good and my hubby wants me to make it again.  Occasionally I need to try again and alter the ingredients or method.  But…  here’s the problem.  Since I’m doing it all on a whim, I never know what I’ve put in or what needs to be changed.

My hubby has started asking me “Did you write it down?”, every time I make something.  My answer has gone from “Oh, oops!” to “Yeah, yeah.  I jotted it down…”

Unfortunately, “Jotted it down” tends to mean “I scribbled it, mostly illegibly, on the back of the receipt from the shoe laces you bought last week.  If I squint, I can sort of, kind of, figure out what it says.  Wait, is that 1 tablespoon of sugar or…  1 tablespoon of fennel seed?  Oh well, here’s hoping!”

Well, there will be no more of this madness.  I’m going to type up, catalog and keep track of all of my recipes!  Woohoo, just what I need- another project!

This is one I am definitely looking forward to, though.  Rarely am I happier than when I’m in the kitchen with an apron tied around my waist and flour on my nose.  (Oh, so 1950s!)

Inevitably, going through these recipes will make me cook, bake, and experiment some more.  Which means you, dear reader, benefit.

And, on that note, I leave you with today’s recipe.  This is the third version of these pancakes I’ve made.  Attempt number 1 was nearly inedible (as a result of the “throwing ‘stuff’ into a bowl” mentioned earlier.)  Number 2 was okay, but lacking something.  Number 3, however…  They are “eggy” and delicious- not your everyday, light and fluffy pancake.  These things have substance!  They will get you from breakfast time to snack time with minimal tummy rumbling.

You can top these pancakes with whatever you choose- fruit, yogurt, maple syrup (none of that fake stuff, please.  This is Vermont.  We use syrup from trees). Heck, throw some rainbow colored sprinkles on there and call it a party.  Yum.

Vegan Pancakes

Makes about 9 good- sized pancakespancakes-copy_t670

3 Cups Flour
2 Tbs Baking Powder
2 Tbs Sugar
1/2 tsp Salt
3 Cups Soy Milk (Or substitute of choice)
1/3 Cup Lemon Juice
1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil
2 Tbs Ground Flax Seed
1 tsp Vanilla

Combine your dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Measure your soy milk and add your lemon juice to the soy milk.  It sort of curdles it, almost like buttermilk.

Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients.  Mix until everything is just wet and still lumpy.  Lumps are good!  We like them in this batter!

Heat a pan on medium-low heat and add a little bit of butter substitute or oil of some kind, just to prevent the pancakes from sticking.  Once the pan is warmed, add your batter to the pan.  Make them what ever size or shape you want.  Nobody’s judging here!  Toss in some blueberries, or chocolate chips.  Get really fancy and let everyone choose their own additions.

Let the batter cook until you can see little bubbles coming to the surface of the pancake.  If you try to flip it before this, you will have scrambled pancakes!  Once the bubbles start coming up, flip the pancake.  After the second side has cooked, remove from the heat.

At this point I usually stack the finished pancakes on a baking sheet or pizza stone and pop them into a slightly warmed oven so that everyone can enjoy (warm) breakfast at the same time.

Leave a Reply

